37 Years back on 25 June 1983 India made a history. Cricket world cup 1983 was 3rd edition of the cricket world cup tournament. It was started from 9 june 1983 in england and wales. 8 teams participated in tournament and India won cricket world cup on today.

cricket world cup victory day
25th June Victory Day for Indian cricket lovers and pplayers
Kapil Dev Caption Indian Team 1983
Credit: commons

Kapil Dev Caption Indian Team 1983

The match consisted on 360 balls/60 overs per inning. Played with white trouser and shirt in day timing. Final match was played between India and West Indies at lords stadium. On 25 June 1983.

It was india’s 1st approach in final to wold cup tournament matches. While on the other hand 3rd time West Indies was fighting for world cup.

PlayerBatting StyleBowling StyleFirst Class team
Kapil Dev (c)Right handRight arm fast-medium Haryana
Mohinder AmarnathRight handRight arm medium Delhi
Kirti AzadRight-handRight-arm off-spinner Delhi
Roger BinnyRight-handRight-arm fast-medium Karnataka
Sunil GavaskarRight handRight arm medium + Right arm offbreak Bombay
Syed Kirmani (wk)Right-handedWicket-keeper Karnataka
Madan LalRight-handRight-arm medium Delhi
Sandeep PatilRight-handRight-arm medium Bombay
Balwinder SandhuRight-handedRight arm medium-fast Bombay
Yashpal SharmaRight-handedRight-arm medium Punjab
Ravi ShastriRight-handSlow left-arm orthodox Bombay
Krishnamachari SrikkanthRight handRight-arm medium + Right-arm offbreak Tamil Nadu
Sunil ValsonRight-handLeft-arm medium Delhi
Dilip VengsarkarRight handRight arm medium Bombay
Team India for Cricket World Cup 1983

Inning Overview:


Sunil Gavaskarc Dujon b Roberts214200010
Krishnamachari Srikkanthlbw b Marshall3882577166.66
Mohinder Amarnathb Holding26108803032.5
Yashpal Sharmac sub (Logie) b Gomes1145321034.37
Sandeep Patilc Gomes b Garner2748290193.1
N Kapil Dev (c)c Holding b Gomes1510830187.5
Kirti Azadc Garner b Roberts033000
Roger Binnyc Garner b Roberts2980025
Madan Lalb Marshall1731270162.96
Syed Kirmani (wk)b Holding1455430032.55
Balwinder Sandhunot out1142301036.66
Extras(b 5, lb 5, w 9, nb 1)20 
Total(all out; 54.4 overs)183(3.34 runs per over)
India’s Batting History
Andy Roberts1033233.2
Joel Garner1242412
Malcolm Marshall1112422.18
Michael Holding9.422622.68
Larry Gomes1114924.45
Viv Richards10808
West Indies Bowling

West Indies won the toss and asked to bat first to India. With full effort Indian team played well and scored 184 in 52.4 overs and give the target 185 to chase for win.

West Indies Batting:

Gordon Greenidgeb Sandhu11112008.33
Desmond Haynesc Binny b Madan Lal1345332039.39
Viv Richardsc Kapil Dev b Madan Lal33422870117.85
Clive Lloyd (c)c Kapil Dev b Binny832171047.05
Larry Gomesc Gavaskar b Madan Lal518160031.25
Faoud Bacchusc Kirmani b Sandhu837250032
Jeff Dujon (wk)b Amarnath2594730134.24
Malcolm Marshallc Gavaskar b Amarnath1873510035.29
Andy Robertslbw b Kapil Dev416140028.57
Joel Garnernot out534190026.31
Michael Holdinglbw b Amarnath628240025
Extras(lb 4, w 10)14 
Total(all out; 52 overs)140(2.69 runs per over)
West Indies Batting Summary

India Team’s Bowling:

Kapil Dev1142111.9
Balwinder Sandhu913223.55
Madan Lal1223132.58
Roger Binny1012312.3
Mohinder Amarnath701231.71
Kirti Azad30702.33
India’s Bowling

Indian bowlers did their best to stop score. In 52 overs West Indies all team out on 140 of total score. And lose the opportunity to win the cup 3rd time.

India was 1st team from Asia who reached in final 1st time and win the cup in 1st attempt.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here